Rookie Cookie

Without realizing it, I made two cookie “dishes” today. Therefore, I am a cookie monster. The first was breakfast, and it’s called a 3 minute cookie. I’d like to rename it the “Rookie Cookie” because even rookies (like me) can make it! The second round of cookies wasn’t so rookie friendly, and of course, I screwed it up. Back to the rookie cookie, though… I found the recipe on My Food ‘n’ Fitness Diaries blog, and decided to give it a try. This can be made as either an oatmeal raisin cookie (my favorite) or a chocolate chip cookie…and it’s pretty healthy to boot!

Rookie Cookie:

1/4 cup oats (quick oats can be used!)

2 tsp. brown sugar  2 tsp. of agave or honey!

2 tsp. whole wheat flour

1/4 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. baking powder

1/2 mashed ripe banana

1 tablespoon mini chocolate chips handful of raisins and 1 tsp. of cinnamon

Before Microwaving

Put it all together in a microwavable bowl, and microwave for 45 seconds!

After Microwaving; Looks the same but...

check out the inside-it's fluffy-like a cookie!

I’d give this breakfast 1.5 thumbs up. After I ate about half the cookie, I got sick of it, so that’s where it lost half of a thumb. Maybe something on top to spice it up would’ve kept my interest longer…perhaps some honey greek yogurt??

A few hours after breakfast, I was surfing some more blogs and found a recipe for healthy cookie dough bites, and as much as I don’t like chocolate, I do like cookie dough yummmmmm. So, I tried this recipe from Love Veggies and Yoga, and pretty much failed…here’s the deal:

Cookie Dough Bites:

2/3 c raw cashews (my first problem, I only had about 1/5 of a cup of cashews. I knew I wasn’t any where near 2/3 so I decided to halve the recipe. This still required 1/3 cup of cashews, which I didn’t have, so I threw in some peanuts and almonds; the hilarious part, is that all of these nuts came from a trail mix that Clay brought on my move out to LA)
1/3 c oats (I used quick oats)
2 Tbsp Agave
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

So all of this should be blended together (minus the chocolate chips) to create a doughy substance; my substance wasn’t even blending so I decided to throw a splash of almond milk in there…whoops. Too liquidy. So, when I tried to make balls out of the dough, it was WAY too sticky and got all over my hands with no trace of a cookie dough bite. My (not so) brilliant chef’s mind started thinking and came up with the solution to put the dough in the refrigerator to harden.

This is what it looked like pre-fridge…after leaving it in the fridge for a few hours, I went back, and it was a little more firm, and I was able to create these:

Still nothing like they’re supposed to be, but at least I got a sort of roundish blob… The problem is, that peanuts and almonds have a lot stronger taste than cashews, and they overpower the entire dough…sigh…maybe next time…

While the dough was in the refrigerator I tried some of this:

silly jaclyn, champions is for kids...

It was good, but not.even.close. to that Voskos that I fell in love with. womp womp.

For dinner, I found a recipe on Picky Palate that’s super easy and turned out really good. I was tempted to make seconds, but refrained. It’s an egg and avocado sandwich. Let’s call it Eggacado, shall we? No? Well, I will.

I have a love hate relationship with avocado. Sometimes, it’s so good, and other times it makes me want to throw up (sorry if you’re eating). It really depends on the textures of the other foods I’m eating it with. I always need some kind of a crunch with my avocado, and the toasted bread on this sandwich definitely provided that.

Eggacado Sandwich:

1/2 avocado

2 slices of bread (I used a 100% whole wheat sandwich thin, of course)

butter (I use smart balance)

1 egg

1 tbsp milk (I used almond milk)

a sprinkle of cheddar cheese

mix the egg and the milk together and scramble; toast the bread and spread a light layer of butter on it; before the egg is completely finished, sprinkle the cheese on top so that it melts; slice the avocado; put it all together! 

here’s mine before combining the two halves:

yum. yum. yum. make this. it’s so easy that I didn’t even screw it up!! I loved the heat of the egg and bread against the coolness of the avocado!

I also had a side of these luscious looking berries (and oh, they were luscious):

GO MAKE SOMETHING HEALTHY. DO IT. EVEN IF YOU CAN’T COOK. LIKE ME.

4 thoughts on “Rookie Cookie

  1. Pingback: Quesadillas, American Apparel Chicks, and Sick Clowns | thejaxoflife

Leave a Reply

